The Annerley History group was founded on 2nd May 2013 to promote an interest in the history of the Annerley Community. The name and the geographic area were expanded in 2014, to incorporate and reflect the interests of members. Our area is the suburbs and communities within the boundaries of the former Stephens Shire Council (1886-1924) which was incorporated into the Brisbane City Council in 1925. Suburbs include Yeerongpilly. Tennyson, Yeronga, Fairfield, Annerley, Tarragindi, Holland Park West, parts of Moorooka, Greenslopes.

The major boundaries of Stephens Shire are Cornwall Street to the north, Logan Road to the east and the Brisbane River to the west. The southern boundary is Shire Road through to Mayfield Street, down Beaudesert Road to Hamilton Road and then following the Moolabin Creek to Oxley Creek into the Brisbane River to the west. 

The objectives of the Annerley-Stephens History Group are:

  • To research the history of the geographical area and the communities and people covered by the former Shire of Stephens and to make the information available to its members, other associations and the general public in electronic or printed form. 
  • Seek community involvement in all major projects.
  • Raise awareness of local history within the broader community of publicity, functions and publications and seek to demonstrate to people of all ages that local history can be interesting and engaging.

We aim to research, interview, write and record the history of our area.


Contact Us